Skip to content

Unleash your inner 12 year old

January 15, 2010

I happen to be lucky enough to have a 12 year old, but for those of you who don’t, this is one fun web 2.0 tool for learning.  

This is what my 12 year old did with it.  She did the whole thing herself, no scripting from me.  It is so fun to get a glimpse into how your kids view what it is that you do for a living.   By the way, she was my audience when I was practising a webinar I hosted on web 2.0 tools for learning and she was excited by Twiddla as a service, which is why it gets a mention in the movie.  Without further adieu… 

And for the record, both my kids think I have a pretty awesome job.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 5:54 pm

    Your kids made this video??? I’m floored!
    This is an example of the cool things that can be done when you have enthusiasm and let go of the fear of trying new things. Is this type of attitude an inherent trait or can it be learned?

  2. hollymacdonald permalink*
    January 19, 2010 6:10 pm

    Yep, my kids made it, it is a text-to-movie service, with drag and drop programming, so really my 8 year old could have done it (but she wanted a ninja that burped and a kitty character, go figure).

    I titled the post “unleash”, because I think curiosity is something we all have, but it gets buried in fear and negative self-talk.

    But honestly, it was simple (and entertaining) for the kids to make the vid, and I can actually see this type of service being used by organizations that have a sense of fun, to make some customer service scenarios or common management challenges that could be discussed in a larger forum or more “formal” training.

    You should try it.

  3. Adrian permalink
    January 20, 2010 7:46 pm

    Thanks for sharing Holly. I think it very important to see things from someone else s perspective, especially the younger ones.
    Well guess what I’m going to do now…go play.

Leave a Reply

