Skip to content

Twitter makes me feel dumb

April 27, 2010

[tweetmeme source=sparkandco only_single=false http://www.URL.com]

I’ve been trying hard to use Twitter instead of just dismissing it, but I have to tell you, it makes me feel dumb. I don’t find it that intuitive, and no one wants to come out and say “I dunno know to do that”, because you feel dumb on a very public platform. Including me.  For some reason, my blog feels a little different. On Twitter I feel like I’m standing in a coffee shop speed dating or something, while the blog feels more like inviting you to come have coffee at my house. Here are 5 things that have made me feel dumb about Twitter so far.

  1. How do you add your own commentary when retweeting? I’m not sure how to do that.
  2. Insert a widget to my blog to put the little “Tweet count and retweet button” – instead I’ve just copied the code I found into each new post. Is that what others do? Is there a better way?
  3. Tweeting my own blog posts. I just feel kind of smarmy doing that. Shameless self-promotion kind of thing, maybe I just need to get over it?  But it does feel a bit catch-22ish.  If others don’t see my smart writing, they won’t share it, and yet they won’t see it unless I show them.   Maybe this one isn’t so much a dumb situation, but an uncomfortable one.
  4. Following  the trail – when there are 3 @s and more than one #, I just don’t know what the hell it means, and it makes me feel dumb.
  5. When I look at people I’m following to try and figure out what is going on around a topic, I am obviously not getting the whole conversation.  Am I supposed to?  If there is an @, and it’s not me, should I just ignore?  The fact that I have to ask makes me feel dumb.

I know there are lots of people who are really big proponents of it, and I am trying, but I just needed to write about feeling dumb, in the hopes that there are others like me who are in the same boat and maybe stumbling across this post will make you feel a little less dumb.  I don’t know if there is a scientific principle behind it, but for me dumbness shared, means dumbness reduced.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 11:34 am

    1. I downloaded and use TweetDeck for Twitter. Apparently Twitter is being redesigned to elimate the need for outside Twitter clients like TweetDeck, but, for now anyway, I think it really helps the whole Twitter experience. When someone puts something up I want to retweet, there’s a button to click to ReTweet them. When I click that it asks if I want to edit before I post it or just go ahead and ReTweet it. I almost always edit it first. I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a shameless self promoter sometimes and I want to ensure before I post anything up that people have room to add in the “RT @AndrayaJGeorge”…which means they need to have atleast 18 free character spaces.

    2. This is a good blog post by Mary Gillen on how to add those buttons to your blog:
    http://marygillen.com/prepopulate-social-media-share-buttons.cfm

    3. Don’t feel bad about tweeting about your own blogs. Where I work it’s my job to do this. I tweet about any blog entry someone writes for our blog. If you are your own boss and managing your own blog, just make it your job. You’re not being smarmy, you’re marketing & networking.

    4. Don’t let the @s and the #s discourage you…and embrace them in your own tweets. If you go to a website that gives you a “Twitter Grade” one of the things that improves your grade is using these symbols. If there are a lot of @s, chances are the post has either been tweeted many times or the person posting the tweet is thanking a list of people or giving you a list of interesting people to follow. If your tweets contain a fair amount of @ posts it shows that you’re a active part of the “twitter community.” The # symbols show words and phrases that are trending and will help you to not only follow hot topics but make sure people see your posts when you contribute to these hot topics.
    Here’s a site for Grading your Twitter:
    http://twitter.grader.com/

    5. If you notice a lot of @s being thrown around in a topic you’re following, theses are probably comments being directed at people who are also heavy in this topic. Try following these people (and hopefully they’ll follow you too) so you can get as much of this conversation as possible.

    • hollymacdonald permalink*
      April 28, 2010 4:48 pm

      Thanks AJ – I appreciate you taking the time to give me some tips.

      I’ll keep perservering, but mostly I wanted others to see that it’s ok to feel dumb about Twitter.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter makes me LOOK stupid, too « Spark Your Interest!
  2. Coming late to the Twitter party « Spark Your Interest!
  3. Twitter reflections – a year later « Spark Your Interest!

Leave a Reply

