Skip to content

A quest for an LMS alternative (that’s not a franken-solution)

September 19, 2011

I’m working on a project that included a question from the client -do we need an LMS?

My response? No.

Rationale

This is a non-profit that offers a type of bootcamp to a very focused audience of CEO’s.  Less than 100 people per year will participate in the program. And we are talking one program for now.  They want to correlate with business results – did taking this bootcamp help them grow their business faster.  I think it’s a brilliant program and want to ensure that we are considering assessment and tracking as part of the design process, not as an afterthought.

Further reflection hasn’t really changed my original opinion, but I am wondering what the alternatives are.

  • Spreadsheet – I’m so not an excel ninja, so the options are a bit fuzzy for me, how are others using spreadsheets for this?
  • Database – ditto
  • Surveys – I did see a nifty little screenr somewhere about linking an articulate quizmaker score to a free survey tool that I’m going to pursue, as I think it has some interesting merit. The challenge is that the true value comes in that “level 3” type of evaluation – did behaviour change and the elusive “level 4” is there a business result. So, we’ll have to hope that an email to a survey that we can somehow tie to the original survey to compare.
  • Web analytics – do people use this with flash courses? – I need to investigate this a bit more.
  • Web services – something like an online goal tracker might be used here.
  • Forms – I have also considered that we host the course using WordPress and then could add a form to it.

Obviously I have more work to do to figure out options and identify the best one for this project.

Is there something out there packaged that fills this gap? Or, are there other things I’m not aware of?

Leave a Reply

